Burroughs Star Ezekiel Elliott Named Metro League Football Player of the Year

With 44 touchdowns last year, and 47 more this year, the Ohio State-bound star has scored 91 touchdowns the last two seasons.

Among the many honorees in nine different sports announced as 2012 All-Stars by Metro League commissioner Dory Smith on Monday, one announcement was no surprise at all.

And that worst-kept secret of probably the entire 2012 Fall sports season was that John Burroughs running back Ezekiel Elliott -- the conference leader in rushing yards, total yards, all-purpose yards, and the St. Louis area leader in touchdowns -- was named Metro League Football Player of the Year, after a weekend vote conducted amongst the league's coaches.

Elliott, who was a city-wide Player of the Year candidate last year, after scoring 44 touchdowns and leading the Bombers to their second straight Show-Me Bowl state title game, is widely considered the leading candidate to win the award this year, as he heads into his final high school game with 1,965 yards and a whopping 47 touchdowns in only 13 games.

Burroughs (13-0), the No. 1-ranked team in Missouri Class 3 football, will play second-ranked Maryville (14-0) in the Show-Me Bowl state championship game, Friday at 1 p.m., at the Edward Jones Dome.

And with a mere 35 yards and three more touchdowns, Elliott would reach the previously thought impossible milestone of rushing for 2,000 yards and scoring 50 touchdowns in the same season.

Eight other Burroughs players were named to the Metro League first-team as well, with twin brothers Xavier Bledsoe (Sr., DL) and Christian Bledose (Sr., LB) leading the way.

Jack Maritz (Jr., OL) and Griff Palan (Sr., OL) were the Bombers' other offensive selections, with Solo Ceesay (Sr., DL), Foye Oluokun, Sr. (DB), and Peter Schnuck, Sr. (DB) making up JBS’ other defensive honorees, and Rushil Sheth (Sr., K) getting the nod on special teams.

Four other JBS players made the Metro League second-team, with Nick Duncan (Jr., QB), Andrew Bartnett (Sr., WR), Jimmy Fort (Sr., OL), and Trevor Bain (Jr., DB) each narrowly missing out on nabbing first team honors.

2012 Metro League All-Star Football Teams

Offense ..................................................... Defense

QB - Justin Baker, Soph. - Lutheran North DL - Xavier Bledsoe, Sr. - John Burroughs

QB - David Nogalski, Sr. - Priory ............. DL - Solo Ceesay, Sr. - John Burroughs

RB - Ezekiel Elliott, Sr. - John Burroughs  DL - Justin Creighton, Soph. - Westminster

RB - Alex Enloe, Jr. - Lutheran South ....... DL - Austin Kistner, Jr. - Lutheran South

RB - Thomas Raybuck, Sr. - Priory ........... LB - Christian Bledsoe, Sr. - John Burroughs

OL - Devin Chabot, Sr. - MICDS .............. LB - Paul Deschler, Jr. - Priory

OL - Bobby Hopkins, Sr. - Lutheran South LB - Sam Friedman, Sr. - Priory

OL - John Houser, Sr. - Priory ................... LB - Jesse Grueneisen, Sr. - Westminster

OL - Jack Maritz, Jr. - John Burroughs ..... DB - Brett Bond, Jr. - Westminster

OL - Griff Palan, Sr. - John Burroughs ...... DB - Cobern Nye, Sr. - Westminster

WR- Kyle Kinner, Jr. - Westminster ........... DB - Foye Oluokun, Sr. - John Burroughs

WR - Anthony Virdure, Sr. - Lutheran North DB - Peter Schnuck, Sr. - John Burroughs

WR - Dan Watson, Jr. - Priory


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something